Poets logo

The Aberrations Of Littleton

An Evening Stroll

By Derek KempPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

We're here for the ore and not much more besides the plastic gifts of plenty.

Wearing masks for senseless tasks, was this the life chance sent me?

Circumstance has set me here in metal molds that bend me.

But fleeting feelings have become too strong for a chap who’s passed his twenties.

As I take an evening stroll among the rows of segregated bungalows.

The sun drops down beneath the cliffs and casts a crimson glow.

I feel delighted that natures provided something so brilliant before I go.

But it’s not just for me, it’s for you, and we, that’s info everyone needs to know.

I pass the landmarks and empty streets where my friends and I once ran wild

I reminisce of simpler times, the innocence and ignorance of a child.

When all that was needed was imagination to keep ourselves beguiled,

But I suppose those memories will stay within my mind both safely stored and filed.

The scent of an old familiar friend sends a handful of local folk into carefree sedations,

All lost in thought taking long drawn gasps for short but sweet vacations.

Laughing, pondering, enchanting, they explore the landscape of introspection.

But not for long we must work some more to add to our collections.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Derek Kemp

I am a songwriter, I play guitar and sing my own songs. I wrote my first poem/lyrics when I was 15 or so, and I began writing more so when I was 19 and have done so for the last 11 years.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.