Poets logo

The 9-5 grind!

Abecedarian: Searching for my hope and dreams

By Silver Published 4 months ago 1 min read
Like
The 9-5 grind!
Photo by Alex Kotliarskyi on Unsplash

Another day, another dollar is the term they use,

But working 9-5 is a way we all lose.

Chasing money to pay bills is the life we live,

Day after day our life falls through a sieve.

Evenings are our own time, but we're too tired,

For fun I suppose, but this went the moment I was hired.

Gone are the days of hopes and dreams,

How we fell for the corporate regimes.

I find myself becoming robotic,

Joining the workforce, I no longer think!

Killing me slowly as it drains my joy,

Looking for the sparks that it can destroy.

Motivation is becoming harder to find,

No matter how hard I search my mind.

Only I can get out of this mess,

Pummeling my way out of all the stress.

Queuing each day for my morning drink,

Reminds me again that I no longer think,

Standing there completely numb,

Thought has gone and I feel dumb.

Under all the bills and workload I crumble,

Vocalising this is impossible, my words stumble,

Working day to day, barely managing to cope,

Xraying my feelings to search for hope.

Yet I continue with this meaningless work day,

Zombie is now the only look I display.

For Fun
Like

About the Creator

Silver

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.