Poets logo

The 21st Tsunami

r.k

By Ruhani KhadijahPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

I hate being in crowds.

I love the rush of being in a crowd, but I hate the idea of following the crowd. I'd look amongst myself and realise that we're all going in the same direction, we're all following the same instructions. Most people nowadays are so used to this tsunami that they don't even look up. What seems like millions of heads some above, some below all following the same current. The scary thing is many many people have been taken by the strong current, it's now their world and its dark, the deeper they drown the thicker the dark surrounds. But they can see and they can breath beautifully underneath it.

When the tsunami starts and I'm amongst the rush, I look down and see all those who can breath underwater. They look lost because they're stuck but they seem okay because its routine, which is sad because I think they forgot that humans can't breathe underwater. The few who are trying to stay above while the tsunami rushes towards its destination, are split. Split by the rocks, the rocks split us up and the water flows any which way it will till we're back on shore, and for those who have been swallowed, well they'll stay under till they realise that that's not they way they used to breathe.

I quite like the rush of being in that tsunami it's thrilling, but its also a reminder, a slap in a the face by a fish of the way the world flows, when the real truth and harmony is above and beyond, above and beyond the tsunami, above and beyond ourselves, so when I do finally hit the rocks and violently part ways... It feels better knowing I'm not a part of the tsunami. Looking down, staying below, breathing under, following the current of the 21st tsunami.

Remember how it felt like to really breathe, and find that rock to split off from the tsunami.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ruhani Khadijah

you're welcome to stroll through my garden 🌱

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.