Poets logo

That Well

a poem

By RJ EctoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Oh well, what a wishing well

My penny I gave away

For the hopes on which I dwell

For the things I want to stay

For a tomorrow more than yesterday

Oh, if I could only tell

Maybe then you'd understand

What I told that wishing well

Was something so beyond grand

Something more wonderful than wonderland

But my lips must stay sealed

If I really want that thing

I must control what I feel

I cannot let myself scream

Though I want to scream out loud that one dream

I will trust that well for now

To get that which we desire

We must honor all those vows

I will do all that's required

I won’t let this world make me a liar

Oh well, that old wishing well

Had my penny been a waste

To that dream I'll say farewell

But know that little will change

For That dream was one among many today

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

RJ Ecto

I am an engineer that enjoys creating art and writing to build worlds, characters, and stories.

Follow on IG: @rj_ecto

Website: www.rjecto.com

Twitter: @rjecto

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.