Poets logo

That’s How The Light Comes Through

Don’t stop

By Judey Kalchik Published 6 months ago 1 min read
12
That’s How The Light Comes Through
Photo by Abhishek Pawar on Unsplash

There are times in our life when the cracks and slivers of living are

~almost~

too much to bear.

At those times it isn't likely to mean much when people say 'you'll get through this'

or,

'you're the strong one, you can take it.'

During these times being strong doesn't feel like a blessing.

It doesn't seem like strength is anything but an excuse to have one more thing thrown at us to test us.

But.

A crack is just that.

It isn't a flaw.

It's not a defect.

There are no do-overs.

This is it.

-

It's up to us, strong or weak, to move through the pain.

To move through the abrasions we get by brushing against the world.

Some will do it by asking for help.

Some will fall asleep with tears of gratitude on the pillow.

Tears that they made it through the day.

Some will smile and shake their head with mild surprise that life has astonished them yet again.

Some will patch their crack and move on with sheer determination and grit.

However you do it~ move through it.

-

Life can be hard, and we are fragile...

but we are stronger than we think.

Once you move through this present crisis, remember the pain and allow it to make you tender towards others.

Cracks make us interesting.

We all have them.

Even people that seems crack-free have felt a fissure or two that you can't see.

This song and this performance: is the origin of the poem’s title.

The poem is from a piece I wrote several years ago on my Milestones Ministry page.

Comments always welcome: how do you repair your fissures and cracks from life? What song helps you?

social commentaryinspirationalheartbreak
12

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    Fantastic, inspiring & just what the doctor ordered!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Beautiful, and inspirational.

  • Justine Crowley6 months ago

    Nice Poetry Judey. Just go with the flow. Tears come not due to weakness; but rather you have been strong for far too long. Thank you so much.

  • I just go with the flow nowadays. I'm so exhausted of fighting it. Lol. Loved your poem!

  • We hear you, sister. And we will do it until we can do it no more. (For that day surely will come for each of us when even our center can no longer hold.) Leonard Cohen, always wonderful.

  • PK Colleran6 months ago

    Yes, people who seem crack-free have a fissure or two. I enjoy your work. Love Leonard Cohen. 🎶❤️

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Well said, you expressed so much in this piece.

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    I am in quite a literal crack today - yesterday I finished one job, soon I will take up another, but I gave myself a few days off, to soften the cracks from the first, to go onto the new less brittle. And usually, I know how to do that. Today, I feel a bit lost on the topic.

  • Pertinent and excellent words

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.