Poets logo

That rainy night

That rainy night

By KENNETH MAXWELLPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
1

Just entering the early winter, it was suddenly cold. The speed was so fast that I didn't have any mental preparation. You can wear a thin autumn coat yesterday, but you have to wear a cotton padded jacket today. The wind with the cold rain slanted on his face, like a nail thrown, which made people feel that they should lock their muscles in the cold.

In the evening, the rain was heavier, and I didn't take an umbrella. I held an autumn coat as a rain gear with my hands, only covering my head. I was frozen on my feet and ran home in two steps.

When people are in such a hurry, the brain is difficult to use. When the brain goes wrong, the body loses its sensitive command. Good guy, one careless step, he fell "four feet in the sky"!

The cold wind and rain take the opportunity to pour from top to bottom, and the water and mud take the opportunity to stick up from behind. The coat and trousers are covered with many big flower marks by this sludge.

When passers-by saw me, they not only felt sorry, but also laughed and made me blush. Fortunately, I didn't fall heavily. Although I felt pain, it didn't matter. I quickly got up and ran away.

Just entering the door, I bumped into my wife. She was about to go out and covered her with a large piece of mud watermark. She was about to attack. When she looked at me, she saw me in a panic and took her anger back. He turned to put down his luggage and said with a serious and distressed face, "take off your clothes and sit by the Kang." He said he would come up to help. I signaled not to use it, so I stripped off my coat, took off my pants, and sat down obediently. My wife was afraid that I would be frozen. She quickly brought me a thin quilt to wrap me, and then went to look for clothes to prepare for my bath.

Shivering, I wrapped myself in a quilt and warmed, and a scene of more than ten years ago suddenly flashed into my mind——

At that time, I was still teaching in a mountain middle school. The management is still based on the district system. The education administration has the District Education Office to manage the education work of each district. During the semester, I was selected by the leaders of the District Education Office to check the teaching work. It happened that I went to my girlfriend's school for inspection that day.

It's a girlfriend. In fact, the word "eight" hasn't been written, and the recognition in my heart is only 50% sure. Why? Because only 50% of me agree, she hasn't made it clear to me.

In winter morning, although it was foggy, I felt it was still warm, so I wore autumn clothes. But at noon, the cold wave suddenly came, and the three people who went with them didn't wear much. After lunch, the inspection team leader said, "just stay and finish the unfinished work. Let's go home first and don't 'buy frozen meat' here together."

I was surprised and asked, "how can you leave me alone?"

"You'll be taken care of here." The team leader said and winked at another team member. The man understood it and echoed "yes".

There is no need to vote. Two thirds of the votes have been left for me. What else can I say? I have to acquiesce. In this way, they ran away, leaving me to continue the rest of the inspection work.

Soon after they left, the heavy rain came. The wind and rain came all over the world, and I couldn't help shivering. Fortunately, in the school office, the principal prepared a charcoal fire, so it was not frozen.

In fact, there is not much work to say. After reading the lesson preparation of several teachers, synthesizing the whole inspection situation, and exchanging opinions with the school leaders, it is over. At this time, I can't wait to finish quickly, because my mind has flown to "her".

Towards evening, the rain not only didn't stop, but also became more and more fierce. I hurried to her house, next to the classroom where she was a head teacher. At this time, the student has been released from school, and she happens to be in her room. Because there was no fire in the house at work, it was particularly cold. I didn't wear much clothes, so I shivered a few times. When she saw me like this, she was at a loss. She flipped out a bed of flower sheets from the bedside box and put them on me. Then go get the fire and burn the charcoal. Dinner was also sent to her residence by the school.

School leaders and teachers were very interesting. As soon as dinner was over, they left again and again. I sat in her room and talked with her. I don't remember a word of what I said after a few hours.

There is no need to guess. It's just saying something to please her and using some words that suit her heart. In such a scene, who doesn't say some sweet words? Unless he doesn't want a wife.

Time passed so quickly that a few hours passed in the blink of an eye, and the clock had passed 12 p.m. However, the rain outside did not stop. At this time, other teachers in the school have fallen asleep. I'm a little anxious. It's necessary to go back. Besides, I know she won't keep me overnight.

I also think so. Since I really love her, I should respect her and not embarrass her, let alone force her. So I decided to go. She said to wake up a single teacher and sleep until dawn. But I didn't agree. I told her that I was "very taboo" and didn't like sleeping with people I didn't know very well, otherwise I couldn't sleep all night. She's not good at forcing people into difficulties, so she has to follow my wishes. What shall I do? It seems that we can only go home in the rain.

The night is very deep. It's getting colder. Embarrassed to borrow clothes from the male teacher again, she still wore her quilt sheet and supported her flower umbrella with small cloth surface, so she came out quietly, and she gave it to me with light hands and feet.

At the school gate, she was about to leave. At this moment, she suddenly felt that I was important to her, so she gently poured into my arms. I wrapped her in a quilt. I heard her rapid breathing, and I'm sure she also felt my heart beating faster.

I suddenly heard her murmur, "don't go, live here, and I'll give it to you!" After listening to her little voice, a warm current rushed in my chest, and an idea flashed in my mind: then stop.

When the idea was over, a cold wind poured in, calming my thinking: No, if so, my image in her mind would collapse, which was also a great disrespect to her, and naturally reduced my personality objectively.

I was determined to go. Seeing that I had thought for a while and made this resolute decision, she understood my mind, so she no longer kept me, but insisted on giving me a ride. It's just an umbrella. I'm still wearing a sheet and quilt. She's holding a flashlight in her hand. Push me into the rain and follow me into the rain. I covered her tightly, walked for dozens of steps and stopped.

How can this work? How did she turn around? If they go on like this, they must get wet. At this time, my heart is like overturning a five flavor bottle and complaining about the ghost weather.

But what's the use of complaining? Another cold wind hit, so that I have no mood to complain, but only the warmth of hugging my beloved. At this time, my heart is very contradictory. From the warm feeling of embracing each other, I really hope that if the rain lasts longer and longer, God will watch us hug like this and forever... But that's impossible!

The wind and rain kept stirring my heart, so that I had to worry heavily.

There's no way. I have to send her back to the house. A girl can't stand the cold. Moreover, the night is deeper, so I'm afraid she'll be frightened. So I quickly pulled her back and sent her into the room. I took the flashlight from her hand and quickly stepped into the misty night.

Back to my school, it was two o'clock in the morning. I was sleepless and my mind was still in the scene of embracing her. After soaking most of the wet quilt in the basin, I fell on the bed and tossed rivers and seas on a whim - I want to thank the cold rain for spitting out the love hidden in her heart to me!

One winter day two years later, our love finally came to an end - we hugged each other and walked into the palace of marriage. After marriage, they soon had the crystallization of love.

Later, whenever we had a little trouble in our life, we mentioned that winter night to make her full of love. On the winter day of the 10th wedding anniversary, after taking the commemorative photos, I picked up my pen and wrote a word: Bu operator - chanting love

I often recall that winter,

Meet Wenchang depression,

Night rain and cold wind poured on my face,

Flower quilt as cotton padded jacket!

To kiss cold and sad,

It's hard to be distracted,

Thank the wind and rain for their love,

art
1

About the Creator

KENNETH MAXWELL

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.