Poets logo

That Night

It silently ended that night, and I want a chance to start again.

By Kathryn QuirkPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
That Night
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

I’m clinging to your hand, tears spilling down my face.

The night is warm and dark, we wish that it won’t fade.

Somehow we know, inside we both know, but don’t say it out loud:

The magic would end, and we would both lose.

I want to go back to that night. I want you by my side again.

It all started ending that night, and I want a chance to start again.

I’m walking down the street and you call my phone.

You’re leaving that night and when you’ll return, you don’t know.

I race into your arms and embrace you one last time.

“I love you” on your lips and mine.

We’re out of time.

I want to go back to that night. I want you by my side again.

Everything ended that night, and I want a chance to start again.

The weeks went by and the silence grows.

I suffer in silence because I know,

That you and I just cannot be together again.

But I’m happy that I knew you,

And I’d do it all again.

Still I will long for that night, when we could be side by side.

True love was felt that night, and I’d do it all again,

All again, all again.

I want to go back to that night. I want you by my side again.

It silently ended that night, and I want a chance to start again.

If I could relive that night, I think we could stood a better chance.

But everything ended that night, and we can never start again.

I wish that we could start again.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kathryn Quirk

I am a wife, and mother of 1 daughter. Former theatre Production Manager, now a full time homemaker.

I enjoy music, theatre, board games, fishing, among other things.

I'm excited to share the musings of my brain with you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.