Poets logo

Thankful, Grateful And Awake

Change Begins With Me

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a year ago 1 min read
6

By Alec Krum on Unsplash

The hollow sound of the dead - reach my ears

Telling tales, about the things I have done

I don’t know what to say about the things in the past

I can’t change now - what I’ve become

That’s a lie, it tells me -

You have the power to stop, turn around and take back your mistakes

You alone, have the power to recreate and restore

Starting over is all that it takes

I don’t think I can do it, I whispered aloud

I can’t be the one who stands out in the crowd

I’m only one, I have no power to change

Just one voice, in a world so loud

You must try, said the voice, with such conviction and pride

I fell onto my knees, to the ground

Asked for strength to begin to heal and restore

As I lay there forgiven, and cried

So this November, as I gather -giving my thanks

For the blessings I have in my life

I remember that I am a guest in these lands

Adopted under - the red, white and blue stripes

Knowing before me, there was another

I stand proudly with them, hand in hand

A thankful, adopted citizen

With the people indigenous to this great land

inspirationalsurreal poetry
6

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Good work!!!

  • Love the togetherness that this enunciates.

  • Clyde E. Dawkinsabout a year ago

    Bravo!!!!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Brilliant and beautiful!!! Loving it!!!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Outstanding. This piece embodies what Thanksgiving should be, in all accounts. You’ve reconciled it beautifully.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.