Poets logo

Thankful for the Holidays

The things I don't always say

By Jennifer DavidPublished 5 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
13
Thankful for the Holidays
Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

I’m thankful for many things

More than I can begin to say

So on today, like any other,

Yet special in it’s own way

I give thanks

...

For the peas that I don’t like in rice

For the tiny little mice

For the gnats and mean mosquitos

For the smells that make me gag

I’m thankful for

...

For lukewarm water

For cloudy days

For quiet nights

I’m even thankful for you

...

For the tears I cry

For simple smiles

For the anger I can’t always contain

For the love that simmers

Oh man, I’m quite thank for you too

...

There are too many things to list that I’m thankful for,

You see, because I’m thankful for it all

I’m thankful for the things that make

my skin crawl

for every pain staking fall

I’m thankful for the sadness that washes over me

I’m thankful for the joy that dries my tears

I’m thankful for foggy days where clouds storm inside me

...

I’m thankful

Because every day that I gag, snot, smile, wince, wink, or cry

Is a day that I’m alive

And for the gift to experience life,

I’m thankful

...

I hope from this

my words kiss

your cheek

because I’m thankful for you too

People I know, and those I don’t

I’m thankful for the gift of you

Holiday
13

About the Creator

Jennifer David

I hope my thoughts challenge yours

Connect with me on instagram!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Lovely heartwarming piece . Just beautiful for this time of year-Thank you for sharing 🤍

  • Test4 months ago

    Terrific work! Keep it going—congratulations!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!

  • k eleanor4 months ago

    Grateful for everything. And grateful of this beautiful piece! Thank you for sharing this Jennifer ❤ Merry Christmas! And congratulations on top story!🎉

  • Test4 months ago

    I really enjoyed this today on Christmas Day!

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    Grateful to have this work, too!

  • Paul Stewart4 months ago

    Well now. I am not a Christmassy person and don't do anything for it, but read this with intrigue and was delighted. Well done on a superb and very important Top Story. I've now subscribed!

  • Manisha Dhalani5 months ago

    Jennifer, this was something else. A good reminder that the bad stuff can make us stronger. Hope you're okay. Merry Christmas!

  • Stephanie David5 months ago

    Thank you for reminding me to expand my gratefulness and to be thankful for the things that ultimately move me forward, make me better, promote healing, etc. Thank you for writing this piece.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.