Poets logo

Thank You For Writing

Your Words Are The Key

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
11
Thank You For Writing
Photo by Valentin Salja on Unsplash

you came along and tasted my tears

tracing the tracks of the salt on my face

watching the flashbacks of my yesteryear’s

never once making me feel out of place

*

you saw through the mask, with a smile on your face

lifting it off, like there weren’t any scars

stood in the doorway, never afraid

opened the lock, removing the bars

*

I stood there exposed, explaining my pain

watching your eyes as I let my guard down

feeling the wash of your sweet, gentle rain

erasing my shame, falling onto the ground

*

such a surprise to me, watching you go

setting me free, with no expectations

never would I believe I'd ever know

such freedom in my exploration

surreal poetry
11

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Mark Graham8 months ago

    Quite emotional.

  • ♥️👍📝

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Beautiful piece. Well done.

  • Such an uplifting message of gratitude & liberation. Beautifully said, my friend.

  • Beautiful words, ty for sharing xx

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.