Poets logo

Thank You For Giving Up On Me

It made me realize I deserve more

By Thomas FletcherPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
"Ghosting" is Immature. Source: Medium

I'm glad you gave up on me

And I'm glad you handled

Theing the way you did

It still hurts but

It showed me a lot,

Things like how little

Respect you had for me

Or how you didn't

Actually care about me

Or our friendship even

After everything we've

Been through together

Or how many times

I stayed and tried being

Your friend every single time

That you ghosted me

Without a heads up

Or a single word

Letting me know you

Were going to do that,

And you kept saying

That we were best friends

But the thing is,

Best friends don't handle things

In the way that you did,

I've made mistakes and

Handled things the wrong way

But at least I always apologized

And took responsibility for

Handling things in

The wrong way and

At least I always tried

To learn and be a better

Best friend to you,

And at least

I never ditched you,

But you giving up on me

Also showed me that

I'm worth much more

Than being a backup option

Or someone's last option

Whenever other people

Weren't available for you,

I wanted us to be

Best friends for life

But you haven't actually

Seen us as best friends

For quite awhile now,

But you abandoning me

Opened up space for people

Who actually care about me

And treat me with respect

And don't just see me as

A backup or last option,

So thank you for ghosting me

Because that's all you are.

inspirationalheartbreak
1

About the Creator

Thomas Fletcher

I like writing short stories, poetry, and probably eventually novels too. I enjoy reading those types of writings as well. I also enjoy listening to music, playing video games, and playing and watching basketball.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Thomas Fletcher (Author)about a year ago

    Spelling Correction in line 3: *things

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.