Poets logo

Thank You Creator

for the rain.

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
7
Thank You Creator
Photo by Drew Farwell on Unsplash

Thank you Creator

for waking me to

the grey morning

and the sound of rain.

*******

Thank you Creator

for the rain,

I didn't want

to mow the lawn today.

******

Thank you Creator

for the rain

a warm cup of coffee

chases the autumns chill away.

******

Thank you Creator

for the rain

it inspires me to

wander to see if the salmon are here.

******

Thank you Creator

for my rain gear

to battle the weather

to battle the fight with the fish.

******

Thank you Creator

for my pole

and fresh line

weights and hooks.

*****

Thank you Creator

for my boots

to slosh through

the mud by the river.

******

Thank you Creator

for my tackle box

that holds my tools

To catch my tasty treat.

******

Thank you Creator

for my cooler and ice

To hold those slippery

Salmon who gave their life for me.

******

Thank you Creator

for the morning's hunt.

One fish, two fish

I do not need more.

******

Thank you Creator

for the fileting knife

long smooth strokes

reveal the beautifully pink.

******

Thank you Creator

for the food for the winter.

One meal, six, nine

meat meals tucked safely away.

******

Thank you Creator

for the rainy day

for the fun

and the winter's catch.

******

Thank you Creator

for providing

Lemon, salt and butter

Most of all, thank you for this meal.

nature poetry
7

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    Well done!!

  • Awww, your poem seemed like a warm cup of coffee! I loved it!

  • Denise E Lindquist8 months ago

    Love it! Sounds so good! I had fish yesterday. Thank you Creator 😊💕

  • Lovely words

  • Mariann Carroll8 months ago

    Amen 💓🙏🏽🥳

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.