Poets logo

Thank You, Anxiety

A Poem

By Miss MariahPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Thank you anxiety

For always making me think things are harder than they really are

& a sense of accomplishment is always out of my reach

For turning situations into a living hell

& twisting words in my head

For keeping me awake

& keeping me isolated

For being the devil on my shoulder

& holding me prisoner in my own mind

For holding me back

& never letting me exceed

For jumping to the worst conclusions

& never letting me know what I should believe

For putting my worries on replay

& offering me no relief

For showing up at the worst possible times

& over staying your welcome

For withholding the truth

& blinding me from reality

For creating the illusion, the road I walk is getting longer

& my happiness is forever further

For making me who I am

& stopping me from being who I wanna be

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.