Poets logo

Testimony

Psalms 27:10-11

By Cheyenne MercadoPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
Like
Testimony
Photo by Hannah Busing on Unsplash

Man made religion

shattered my family

People pleasing is

How they raised me

I’ve been forsaken

Misused, misunderstood, and mistaken

Unappreciated, people always taking

Grew up thinking education

Was all that could save me

Not knowing truth

Is what I needed

“Go to college to

get more knowledge”

Dropped out twice

Robbed of vision

Left with debt

No provision

I didn’t wanna conform

Being out of the norm

Jesus got a hold of me

When I was ignorant at best

But he handled the rest

I know now I’m truly free

My mind was satan's playground

He sifted me as wheat

Tossed me around

I didn’t know then

Who God made me to be

Set apart from the start

All for his glory

This is my life testimony

I still remember the day

My father went to prison

Earliest memory

Just a baby girl

Lost without her daddy

The day he left in that taxi

I grew up always competing

With men, drugs, and parties

For mommy’s attention

Even remember the day

One of the men beat me

My entire childhood felt

Like survival mode

At age six being sexually exposed

I remember the hard times

Being alone at home

Not having food to eat

A can of corn was a real treat

Living on welfare

Always dependent

Food became my only escape

Control I could take

The day Jesus healed it all

I turned to the psalms

27:10 and I began to understand

Experiences are a lesson

God was always there with a plan

To adopt me as his own

From his mind I was destined

To reveal his truth

To the hurt ones

Seeking meaning too

I know pain

I know loss

Jesus was there for it all

On the cross

He carried me through

Brought me out

Relatives don’t get it

I have no doubts

We all have a choice to make

Life or death

Determines which path you take

This world wasn’t made without intentions

God knows every person's deceptions

He is the God of the rich and poor

He is the one that will deliver

He is always and forever

Holy Treasure

social commentarynature poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Cheyenne Mercado

Secrets hidden behind a lock and key, suddenly his faithful love set me free.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.