Poets logo

Tessellation

How I recreated what you tried to break

By S.J.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
3

You stumbled upon me a decade ago

Back when my eyes were still green like the pines from home

Back when my spirit still burned bright for adventures and freedom

All I wanted to do was exist in color

I did not pay attention to the false roses, your muleta, you kept presenting

You charmed me a decade ago

Back when believing in rainbows was still apropos

I should have known better

Back when I first noticed the cracks in your charming guise

But innocence can be relentless with ignorant ambition.

And I did not know how to hold you accountable

For all of your lies and fables

Like the spilled paint on our bedroom floor,

Sparkling hues of white and gold

Are no better than pretty facades to behold.

You knew exactly how to ensnare me a decade ago.

But innocence does not last,

children grow up,

and congenital cycles get overthrown

You tried to Break me a decade ago.

But I learned how to love my strange new pieces and their sharp edges

I picked up what you dropped and created a new depiction

I’ve rearranged what you tried so hard to shatter.

I am no longer your gambit as I once was

I no longer grasp for ivory tower sunrises and ignore the red

The light now holds me

It illuminates the beautifully imperfect pieces and new shades of colors

That makes up the mosaic of my heart and my soul

Something you never could have envisioned a decade ago.

performance poetry
3

About the Creator

S.J.

I've lived in many different environments and have experienced many lives. I have also encountered even more stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.