Poets logo

TEMPTATION OF MAN

Caught in the web

By Amusan Aishat AbiodunPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
2
TEMPTATION OF MAN
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

TEMPTATION OF MAN

What have I done?
To deserve this indecision?
Faithful I have always remained,
From sunset, Moon and noon.

Oh! Temptation of man,
The forest is too thick,
Darken is it like the night,
I know not.

Oh! Temptation of man,
Rough is it like a tortoise shell,
Narrow is it like pitch,
I know not.

Oh! Temptation of man,
Deepen as that of an ocean
So rough as a jungle,
I know not.

Oh! Temptation of man,
Dangerous as a lion
Calm as a tiger,
I know not.

Oh! Temptation of man,
Smart as a cow,
Dense is a snake,
I know not.

Oh! Temptation of man,
Bedazzled I am,
Dumb,deaf,daft I am,
This puzzle is cunning!

Flocks of sheep,
Sheepishly sheeping around me,
Unable to run through,
And no turning back.

For the door is about to jam,
For the day is getting dark,
Thicken is their thoughts I know not,
Soften is it, I am bedazzled.

Oh! Temptation of man,
The darkest hour is approaching,
For the forest is too thick,
The eclipse is rounding off.

Esclipse round off not,
Choose I must!
But afraid I am!
Not to be astray.

Denied and rejected I pray not,
Tempting are men,
Cunning they are,
I know not.

A puzzle I must solve,
Buying a treasure,
Covered with cloth,
I must choose.

Choose I must,
Before the full eclipse,
The puzzle I must solve,
Oh! Temptation of man.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Amusan Aishat Abiodun

"Writing makes me exhilarated, and as you read my piece, may you be elevated with profound happiness."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.