Poets logo

Temptation

.

By The Invisible WriterPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Temptation
Photo by Shalone Cason on Unsplash

It's that old feeling welling up

that devil's dance dancing

that midnight's delight spinning

Ahhh….

that sweet anticipation

that dark horizon building

that bad moon rising

that urging....

My good soul, stay away

My innocent heart, stay safe

but, but

Mmmm….

that longing desire

that reason escaping

that judgement passing

that, that....

I know how good it feels

TO SIN

but, after

Ohhh….

that regret, that why did I?

that I won't again, that I promise

then, again…

there's

that sweet whisper

that temptation calling

that anticipation growing

that weakness brewing

that old debate

coming round again

am I good.... Am I bad

stay strong, righteous path

give in, sinner's road

I know I shouldn't,

I swear I do

but....

that bad habit

that siren song singing

that pied piper dancing

that tornado....

spinning around

my restless soul

threatening

to touch down again

overcome, stay above

surrender, sink below

I should walk away

I know I should

But….

that craving

that, that

art
1

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    I love this! It's relatable and foreboding and so well written!! Great work Will!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.