Poets logo

Temple of Wayne

An American ritual

By Marc PerainoPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I have a blood offering for Wayne, God of Death

Chalice in hand, I ascend the temple steps

My child's blood is fit for this deity

Who craves sacrifice and extremist piety

If left unfed, he will withhold his blessings

Blessings of wealth and power, drawn from the dead

I pour this sacred blood over his greedy head

Does it taste good, my God of Death?

Does my daughter's soul please you?

I only want to serve you, Wayne

I only want to satisfy you

Sacrifice your children and receive from Wayne!

Appease this ancient deity and maybe we'll be spared

Maybe our lives will mean something, but

Only if Wayne wills it.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Marc Peraino

Short fiction and poetry author in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.