Poets logo

Tell It To My Heart

And Sing Me To Sleep

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
Tell It To My Heart
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

*

still trying to escape, into someone I'm not yet

little sparks of who I was, still remain

it's easy to ignore, but much harder to forget

I'm better now, than - from where I came

*

there is no right way, just new steps, into new days

it would be easier, but I only smile in photographs

I keep on searching, trying to find a better way

making plans to change - still, my heart laughs

*

I can't tear my eyes away, held captive in your smile

a child when we met, ravaged by your fire

I'm begging for a reprieve, my soul held hard on trial

my survival is the question, come down to the wire

*

under water screaming, gasping, franticly for air

your reflection on the surface, gathers hope

as you smile and turn away, I know I am unprepared

to be the one who frees me from this rope

*

so, I tell it to my heart, and sing myself to sleep

breathing easier, when you don't hold me down

I learned the hard way, that I hear what I believe

quiet as a shadow, resting safely on the ground

*

as it was

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    I hope you are at a safe place 😔

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.