Poets logo

Teen Spirit

Advice For The Spiritually Curious

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Teen Spirit
Photo by Maria Teneva on Unsplash

What sucks about this stage

of global awakening

is the masses are experiencing

the toxic spirituality

I experienced when I was 13

:

When I was jaded

People I was shaking

just weren't waking up

:

They're drunken

slumber was just too much

:

They slept in all day

while I watched the sun rise

:

It feels like the times

when I felt an ugly sense

of superiority

Because I felt like

the only one

:

I felt so alone

because I felt higher than most

More progressed than the rest

I shared a space with

I felt disgusted at people

who weren't on my path

:

I resented those who

didn't practice spirituality

my way

Just as much as I hated

organized religion back then

:

Those who found god in

other scripts

other places

other ways

:

I'm wise enough to know now

all paths to the one are valid

:

As long as they are rooted

in the selfless love

all ancient religions are based on

:

All spiritual paths

are simply expressions

of the one

:

Just like all cultures around the world

People practice in their own way

:

Spirituality comes in various colors

It comes in an array of flavors

Herbs and spices

are the only things

that make one way any different

than ordinary spiritual beans, rice, and chicken

:

If I have any advice for those who

consider themselves religious or spiritual

It's something that all paths agree on

:

Have faith in a force beyond your own

in whatever form you perceive "god"

Pray and practice your worship everyday

to rid yourself of the chains of the mundane

:

Live honestly

Love all that is

Respect one another

:

That means loving and respecting

those you don't agree with

Those who choose a path different

than your own

:

Respect all prayer

and worship in the ways that align

with one's signature vibration

:

You are not superior nor inferior

You are just an expression of the one

:

So quit it with this teenage ego trip

Just live your life

and let other's lives be lived

:

So we can all live

:

in peace

in love

in unity

:

As one

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.