Poets logo

TEACH

why do I want to teach

By Elina SanchezPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
1
TEACH
Photo by Siora Photography on Unsplash

Dear Future student,

TEACH is a five-letter word that makes the ground shake.

For the words that will come out of my mouth will flow like a lake,

A lake of knowledge that will spill into their brains.

In hopes that they grasp the information even if it causes some pains.

Math and science are not as easy as 1-2-3 but rather than 6xC with a splash of memorizing the definition of species. Do not forget ELA where your reading level will reveal that dyslexia you've tried to shield.

TEACH

A five-letter word that makes their worlds quake.

Teaching each subject so that a different part of the brain will wake

from a summer-like slumber.

Neurons connecting knowledge together like the syllables in a sentence.

So that when they grow older their knowledge will be looked at as a reference.

a reference- even with that dyslexia that attempted to hold you down

now you dread less.

TEACH

A five-letter word that wraps around my heart and tugs at every string.

In every direction, it is yanking me.

How best to support my children who are not MY children but whose stories, responses, and experiences have left the same amount of marks as if I bore all 26 individually.

That five-letter word jerks me in a new direction and lands me in a different role.

From teacher to nurse to a 5-minute psychologist for the student who is standing on an imaginary edge

riddled with anxiety where nothing will work including their legs.

The similar ledge I've been standing on since day one. From the moment I said I do.

I do and I will

I wholeheartedly promise to pursue your everlasting best interest.

I promise to be the flashlight in the face of your darkest hours.

I promise to be the one you can reach for when your words have fallen on the deafest of ears.

Today, Tomorrow, the Day After Next

A 1-syllable 5-letter word that starts at the tip of my tongue and ends when I take my final breath.

Sincerely,

Ms. Sanchez

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Elina Sanchez

Just trying to juggle my career, school, and attempt to have a social life.

Writing is something I've always had a passion for but I rarely find time.

Now I am making time for my passions.

Instagram: @elina.sanch

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.