Poets logo

Tattoos

A Poem

By :)Published 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am tattooed on

You

That fist-sized section of skin,

I’m immortalized in

The spot where your heart should be.

On your chest,

I can feel your heart.

Relief.

I can smile, and

Appreciate that

You’re alive

We began in burning passion

The needle penetrating

Flesh

Heart.

Buzzing

Grinding

It hurt,

But it was an addictive pain.

I’m Just a tattoo

But I stay with you

Forever

As the worms crawl

Inside you,

Flesh decaying,

I’ll be there too.

We rot Together.

Stare at me

In the mirror.

Are you

Reminded of the pain?

The burning?

I am.

You see,

you’re tattooed on me as well

buried in

the pits of my abdomen

When I stare in the mirror,

I remember the flame

Licking me with her sweet tongue

Caressing me,

Blanketing me,

Smothering me

In your love.

But now,

It just feels like swallowing Stones.

It’s not fair.

you get a reminder

that I loved you

But for me,

It’s just a reminder that

You left

And for Fuck’s Sake

Take these stones out of my belly

Before I Drown.

I scream,

Scratch,

Trying to get rid of you,

Begging the reminders of

Your smile

Your laugh,

Your stupid hair,

To leave.

But

I don’t want to forget You.

Not in reality.

I’m sorry.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

:)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.