Poets logo

Taste

Poem

By Desmond RazzanoPublished 2 years ago 2 min read

Honey..what does poison taste like? Put a sword in my chest and impale me.

Or place the crown on my head and then, all hails me.

My lips kissed death, and he tastes like chocolate.

If he knows me, he can’t claim to be my postulate.

There’s terror inside indecision. Nails poke holes in your happiness.

There’s flavor in such inhibition, gain comes from experience.

Baby..what does your love taste like?

I bet they’ve called you skittles before, but I’ve gone by my own name.

Who knows what the future in-stores.

It’s hard enough to explain.

This unit still has its new car smell; no miles have been made yet.

Greater peace brings greater hell.

Come take me on your grave quest!

There’s fire in your blood, while you can’t see the flames.

Energy jolts along your bones, now you’ll never feel the same.

I don’t speak, I’d rather write off, but funny is what these words are tasting of.

They dissolve onto paper. I’m ready to meet my maker. Mother Earth is my home and you have zero right to quake her.

I’m the sleeping witch, just please try not to wake her.

My dearest..what’s your blood taste like?

The color’s a step down from perfect, and it’s all yours.

But lose enough of it, and that could kill you, of course. Your mind opens doors.

Your heart can heal flaws.

Let us dance on the ice before it unthaws.

The lines are so clear, I can trace it. My truth approaches now, I can almost taste it.

Chances have their prices, so it’s better not to waste them.

Demons are so close, I can actually face them.

I wonder what your heart tastes like if I ate a hole through it.

You want to make it taste good, then you need to add some soul to it.

If you truly want it, then you need to give your soul to it.

Nothing is for nothing, there’s a bigger role to it.

I know how freedom tastes, it doesn’t have too many flavors.

So bite the apple, within razors. It must be in my favor.

Do not ask because I’m doing no favors.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Desmond Razzano

My name is Desmond, and I have a love and passion for writing of all kinds, especially poetry! Most of the content I write about reflects more of my experiences and my pain, and my joy! Every entry or story I post was written by me.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Desmond RazzanoWritten by Desmond Razzano

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.