Poets logo

Tampa

by: Shannon King written 2014

By Shannon KingPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

Tampa

I left my city crushed, but hopeful for the future

Trying to escape to accomplish something greater

I went from a small town to a big city

Perhaps I was unprepared

I accomplished what I set out to do

But they tried to break me

And then I met you

You saw me and I knew what you wanted

I couldn’t resist

I tried to fight it, but you just kept drawing me in

Finally I succumbed

And it was bliss

You promised to protect me

I gave you my love

You knew I was leaving

You said it could work

I gave you my trust

You said you couldn’t make it

I came to you

You said you needed help

I gave it to you

I kept trying to give all I had

But I kept having losses

That brought me down

But you stayed with me through it all

Earning my trust and love even more

Suddenly, I have nothing more to give

And you have given up

I knew when I lost all I had

You would leave me to my emptiness

Angry, Broken and outraged

That you led me here to leave me

When I could have been stronger without you

I try to call you, you ignore me

I need you more than ever

But you have abandoned me

I keep trying to escape all my demons

But I carry them with me

They always lead me to loneliness and isolation

For a moment you went there with me

I can’t be mad, I can’t be angry

That you no longer want to bare half of the burden

Of my darkness and my shadows

I can’t be sorry that you want to be happy

Don’t be sorry you want the darkness gone

I carry it with me

Always

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Shannon King

Born in St. Augustine, Fl, Shannon has a Master of Arts Degree in Applied Behavior Analysis from USF. She is currently pursuing a career in music, singing and writing with a focus in poetry, biographies, and inspirational messages.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.