Poets logo

Tales of Torment: Ghost Stories

These 'Tales of Torment' are 'Ghost Stories' that tell the existence of invisible monsters (Depression/Anxiety), double-edged swords (Desire/Pleasure), and thieves (Comparison) hiding in plain sight. These "Ghosts" don't hide in closets or underneath beds, but in plain sight, behind the smiling faces we see everyday.

By Josh MorganPublished 4 days ago 1 min read
Tales of Torment: Ghost Stories
Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

my past has a present for me,

and it's regret

it's the voice in my head that says the most to me

telling ghost stories the moment the moon comes up

it's the shadows of my shame that continue to boast to me

burning up my days, just a minute after the noon comes up

my past has a present for me,

and it's trauma

pictures in motion on constant playback, my focus fatally clings to them

showing ghost stories the moment the lights turn off

my only lighting is that, that the flashbacks bring with them

plotting stars across the filling void, only bright until they burn off

my past has a present for me,

and it's a free trip down memory lane

it's the gift of pain that waters the land that flowers these tales of torment

writing ghost stories with the ink that forever floods my diary

it's the rift between me and myself that rain fills, sourcing the power for such an assortment

singing ghost stories that give life to the blood that paints the writings in this library

these tales of torment are ghost stories, that some people still don't believe

Stream of ConsciousnessMental Health

About the Creator

Josh Morgan

I began writing as a means of expressing creativity, relieving stress, and venting emotions. I mention my daily battle with mental health a lot, I hope it is relatable and inspiring to readers, as writing is something I'm passionate about.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Josh MorganWritten by Josh Morgan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.