Poets logo

Tale of Gourdelia Rind:

Narrative Poem

By Saroyan ColesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Tale of Gourdelia Rind:
Photo by Bianca Ackermann on Unsplash

I’m Gourdelia Rind

What’s on my mind?

As you can plainly see,

I am a pumpkin,

round as round can be

EVERYTHING

was all fine

growing peacefully

on my vine—

Next to grumpy grandpa

LUMPY

Across from my rotten sister

PUNKY

Beside my tiny mother

RUNTY

Then she spotted me,

little Julianne Carver,

No more than four

It felt weird to leave home!

STRANGELY

Her family threw me

in the backseat;

with the dog-

Who licked

all my dirt right off!

Their house was

around the block

It’s a cool place!

Or so I thought!

Little Julianne Carver,

with the help

from her mother

carved out my face

with a knife!

Then hallowed out

my insides

with a spoon!

My guts, lay here

and there

every where, I nearly swooned

Even in

little Julianne Carvers’ hair!

My flesh,

made into soup!

My seeds,

lightly toasted

And

THEN

if only

that were the end..

THEY

stuck me outside,

AGAIN

warning to all, with a brain cell

whatever you do, don’t go in!

Don’t even think of ringing

Little Julianne Carver’s doorbell!

childrens poetry
2

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.