Poets logo

Tale of an Affair

j.i.m

By TheMoon'sKeeperPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Tale of an Affair
Photo by David Dvořáček on Unsplash

The shutters are drawn closed

Sunlight streams through as slivers of white light

The side of the bed where you reside is missing it's usual warmth

It's bare yet has signs of life

The bed in which we share

Where love is made

Is now missing half it's occupants

I am left with wonder

Wonder in where it is you have gone today

No anger

No sadness

Not even surprised

In fact

By this time I should know better

You never stood past day break

Our nights linger with passion

Your heat embraces me

Keeping me your lost company

Yet I know

It is not permanent

I know once the sun rises

The mirage of last night dissipates into nothing

While you make me your night time escape

You creep back to the man you play during the day

What keeps my mind preoccupied

Is the ring on my left hand

A gift given by you

How it reminds me of the band on yours

I to wonder

If she and I have similar rings

Since it is clear

We have the same taste

But unlike my ring

Her's shines brightly with pride on the correct finger

Where he put it tightly on

The day of ceremony

A day of happiness and grief

The day of your wedding when you chose her over me

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

TheMoon'sKeeper

A sad Pisces )-(...... in love with the depiction of love and poetry

Follow my IG @themoonskeeper23

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.