Poets logo

Taking the Journey Onward

A poem inspired by the song “In My Life” by The Beatles

By Rasma RaistersPublished 9 months ago 1 min read

There was a bright-colored rainbow,

across the sky the day we met,

it has not been long my friend –

but the sunny skies have turned to gray.

Yet, through it al,l we must smile,

for tears only mist the yesteryears,

we still have each other,

my heart, your heart still goes on.

Remember the happy days,

the emotions and inspiration shared.

The songs we sang,

that brought back many cherished memories.

Now I stand at the crossroads,

my hand outstretched,

looking back at the footprints we have made,

come take my hand

and journey onward with me.

This latter part of our journey,

will bring back many golden moments,

we’ll remember the laughter and the tears.

Our love will keep us together,

because leaning on one another,

will give us strength,

to face what is around the bend.

I know that someday,

our footprints will begin to fade away,

it will be like the toss of the dice,

which one of us will have to stay,

the other to fly away.

One of us will continue this journey,

the other waiting on the threshold,

always remembering the days that shone the brightest –

always remembering the love and the hand that we held.

art

About the Creator

Rasma Raisters

My passions are writing and creating poetry. I write for several sites online and have four themed blogs on Wordpress. Please follow me on Twitter.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rasma RaistersWritten by Rasma Raisters

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.