Poets logo

Taking a Break

But from what, work or life?

By Simon GeorgePublished 12 months ago 1 min read
5
Taking a Break
Photo by micheile henderson on Unsplash

Daises bloom across grassy land.

Infiltrating muddy minds.

Spreading a much-needed lightness to the stress of city bees.

The humming of buzzy pollinators wakes me from my dream.

Relaxing in nature was just what I needed.

Anxious minds like mine need reminding of what really matters.

Calloused hands tell lies. Lifting iron is no replacement for nature.

Time expires like a dry riverbed.

It flows by, slowly evaporating as it waits for you.

On the grass, I lay. Wishing my break wouldn’t end.

Nothing compares to this. The alarm sounds. Back to work while the river dries.

inspirationalsocial commentarynature poetry
5

About the Creator

Simon George

I write poetry, fiction, and non-fiction. In 2021, I published my debut book "The Truth Behind The Smile" a self-help guide for your mental health based on my personal experience with depression. Go check it out.

IG: @AuthorSimonGeorge

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    I feel like I was laying on the grass with you listening to the birds chirp and the hot sun on my face 😁

  • MARIE ODEMS 12 months ago

    GREAT WORK!!!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.