Poets logo

Taken

I Saw Death

By Mack D. AmesPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
5
Mum, never one to stop for a camera, weeding the garden, a favorite past time. 1986.

I saw death.

Though you were

gone long before the end,

I knew your day had come.

Your bright, clear, blue eyes that once twinkled at a private joke or scolded

when pushed too far,

now clouded, unseeing.

Your mouth, that taught me to sing and kissed away my tears,

gaped and silenced.

Your curls, a tiny reward from your first fight with this dread disease,

Unfurled and limp, stuck to your head in a feverish sweat.

The calming scent of your perfume

replaced by the stench of sickness.

Your arms and hands that nursed me embraced and comforted me,

unfeeling and unmoving.

Your modesty laid bare by a loose-fitting hospital gown,

no indignity spared trying to spare your life. Yet,

Death-rattles ravaged each breath;

I held mine. Would you have another?

At last, I gently hugged your fragile shoulders and kissed your forehead;

"I love you, Mum."

Your love was never in doubt.

Death took you that night,

Tuesday, 3/17/87.

sad poetry
5

About the Creator

Mack D. Ames

Educator & writer in Maine, USA. Real name Bill MacD, partly. Mid50s. Dry humor. Emotional. Cynical. Sinful. Forgiven. Thankful. One wife, two teen sons, one male dog. Baritone. BoSox fan. LOVE baseball, Agatha Christie, history, & Family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    We remember them with love, with pain and so many emotions. She is long an angel now. Still, they watch over us. Lovely tribute.

  • Bill MacDonaldabout a year ago

    I wonder if the impact might be even stronger if you put a period at the end of your first line: "I saw death." "Though you were gone long before the end, I knew your day had come." What do you think?

  • Lakshmi Narashimanabout a year ago

    Nice one Mack

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.