Poets logo

Take your Mask off

Be your Authentic Self by Mariann Carroll

By Mariann CarrollPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Take your Mask off
Photo by Fernand De Canne on Unsplash

Who Are You, Do you Know?

What is within, do you let it Show?

I know Who I am ?

I am the best authentic me,

You will ever know.

I am kind

I don’t like it when ,I have to be mean .

I cannot take abused so I have to say

A Loud No !!!

I love having fun and enjoying life.

Why do you have to be a party pooper

and destroy my life dream by hiding

behind every scene, I try to create.

I love volunteering.

You put a stop to that

By trying to amplify my fear of you.

For now on,

I will not give that power

Over me ….

This Mask is no longer needed

It does not shield me from the power

You think you had over me.

I am me and I will

Take back the true me.

I don’t need to be mean , when you

Are lurking around me.

I will just ignore you

Like a bee.

You won’t sting me

If I don’t acknowledge you

You can hurt me.

Your sting is just temporary.

Don’t pretend to me

And take

art
3

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard12 months ago

    Great Slam poetry ❤️

  • Yes, ☑️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.