Poets logo

Take a Stand

Don't Comply!

By Mark Stigers Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Take a Stand
Photo by Papaioannou Kostas on Unsplash

A part of me died the other day,

and the pain racks my soul.

I could not unsee the way,

children cruel inflected Woe!

A beating of one meek,

and the mean girl’s requiem,

"Our fun is what we seek."

Yet, no one dare help the victim.

The selfish deed was recorded.

When I saw it, I was made so sad.

For my vision of humanity was distorted,

by bullies that behave so bad

Do those that hound the shy,

get a feeling of power grand,,

when the others just stand by

to condemn a soul not worth a stand?

What can I do that is lawful,

to discourage this side of humankind.

For when we do not stop deeds so awful,

then this makes us complacent in the crime.

If a person does not want to conform,

and be civil in the class,

the group must strive to inform,

that they will not let this cruelly pass

To save you there is no superman.

The responsibility falls on your team.

To stop the bullies and make a stand.

Usurp the tyrant’s reign so mean!

heartbreaksocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

Mark Stigers

One year after my birth sputnik was launched, making me a space child. I did a hitch in the Navy as a electronics tech. I worked for Hughes Aircraft Company for quite a while. I currently live in the Saguaro forest in Tucson Arizona

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.