Poets logo

Take a Deep Breath

What Today?

By CAROLE S TURNERPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

In your hand, I saw the grenade

I wanted to pretend it wasn't there

The tempest brewed

At the back of your eyes

"Pull the pin"

The storm whispered with a gust

The downpour commenced

Ah, the recognizable

The familiar

Yes, I'm comfortable in the tornado

Wash away the pain

Let it rain

Let it storm

Destroy all in my path

Inside

Is where I hide

Leaves fell soaked to the ground

A limb fell without a sound

The wind intensified

No place to hide

The debris lifted in the air

And swirled in the howling wind

Pull the pin

Toss the grenade

Stand in the tempest

Curse the storm

You created

They don't understand

YoungBoy does

We share agony

Pain

The rain

Falling hard

behind the veil

That covers well

The window to the soul? Hah!

They don't see

They don't comprehend

But I'm just guessing

Are these your thoughts?

Is this reminiscent of

The storm inside?

I don't truly know

I can't get to you

I can't prevent the storm

Swat the Demon Dragonflies

That come to slay you

Living in devastation

Consumes us all

In this wreckage

I try to breathe

Such grief

Constant misery

Like never before

Like a heavy cloak

Sustained

Lasting

Unrelenting

We each wear it

Pull into the drive

Take a deep breath, "what today?"

Home is a pit

I wish...

Often, my sweet boy

I wish

Where are you?

Are you gone forever?

The immortal Demon Dragonflies

Survive

Grenades

Tornados

They thrive behind the veil

Where you hide so well

Many mistakes I've made

God, I tried

But I can't breathe

You can't breathe

None of us can fucking breathe

I'm sorry

This love is free

We are your family

I wish you could see

Attend your hurts

Escape the hurricane

Drop the grenade

Release the Demon Dragonflies

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

CAROLE S TURNER

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.