Poets logo

Taffy Was A Coal Miner

Working the coal

By marie381uk Published 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Taffy was a coal miner, dedicated to the pit

He worked from being ten years old

He loved his job and never once regretted it

Lots of young ones would come and go

Taffy was in a post that he liked so

With his snap tin and his tobacco

He would help anyone that he could

From being little, he wanted to be a coal miner

His family always told him that, one day he would

He worked tunnels so dimly lit,

On his day off he sang songs about it

Dedicated to his dirty underground job

Working like an earthworm for just a few bob

When he had to retire, he didn't want to

Leaving the job he loved made him feel so blue

Taffy was a miner, all his life he worked the pit

Only memories now and a broken heart

Of a job he loved right from the very start

vintage
1

About the Creator

marie381uk

My Name is Marie, I write mainly poetry

I write subjects that I lean towards. No poetry by me, is related to me in any way unless I state it is. I have loved poetry from being 14 years old. Life is a poem grab a pen a tell your story xx

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.