Poets logo

Swimming in Glue

any stroke will do

By Brenton FPublished 12 days ago 1 min read

my many delusions

conspire

both with;

and against me

my days are long

and often blue

my night are darker

shaded through

and through

and through

and

the viscosity

of my dilemmas

keeps my head

above this

mucilage mire

of my making

this self-made

melted horse morass

is so fucking real

i wish i was faking

i can feel it

in me and around me

inside

outside

upside down

i can feel it

overwhelm me

and that's why

it feels like

i'm swimming

in glue

this is all me

nothing to do

with you

and now

i feel like

i'm swimming

in glue

im not lost

im found

and this

in itself

is nothing unique

or new

sad poetry

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Andrea Corwin 11 days ago

    Fabulous and fitting song! Mucilage great addition - loved your poem.

  • Powerful piece. The feeling of swimming in glue alone is terrifying. Well done!

  • Heather Hubler12 days ago

    Yes, indeed.

  • Kodah12 days ago

    "I feel like I'm swimming in glue". This poem hit me on such a deep level. Incredible work💌

  • This is powerful and evocative Brenton. Truly excellent work.

Brenton FWritten by Brenton F

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.