Poets logo

swimming at midnight

a shroom trip alone in the bathtub

By earthtovirgoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

the music in the background

played to the slow beat in my chest

a slow tempo, filling the air

with the weight of

moments

my knees like mountains

peering over asul waters

I knew that I could climb them

so easily, effortlessly

not breathlessly almost invincible

burned out edges

slowly sizzling sinking shrinking

the feathers on my back

that cradled me all day

finally able to come out of

hiding.

i’m amazed at myself

why didn’t i notice before?

how far and wide

my wings could span

sweet release, liberating me

a meditative mind

blowing in the breeze

living in shadows

under a canopy of trees

do you wanna see you problems

balanced on butterfly wings?

in my bathtub,

it’s all small.

my shoulders down from my ears

my breath, the color of clouds

in the sunset

suddenly remembering that

just because you can swim

doesn’t mean you can’t drown

but my watery self

and airy mood

in these midnight waters

love these subtle caresses

the feeling of weightlessness

enjoying my nights

with a side of disassociation

some freedom from concentration

embracing a waning moon

because morning often comes too soon

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

earthtovirgo

watching roses bloom on earth.

@earthtovirgo on IG and earthtovirgo.tumblr.com.

all original photos taken with my iPhone.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.