Poets logo

Sweet Sleep

To my Baby Boys

By Josie Del VallePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Sleep my sweet, have vivid dreams, as you lay within my arms,

Safe and warm, away from harm, from danger, and from scorn.

Sail among the silver streams, and may night take you away,

Dance among the stars, moon, and mars, and with the angels may you play.

Roll around the many fields, golden sleep dust in the wind,

May you swing from the tallest trees, with each animal make a friend.

May you run ever so careless over soft grass, pillows beneath your feet,

May you sip the sweetest honeysuckle, every berry found, may it be a treat.

You shall climb the tallest mountain, with tops white as sugar cane,

Take a leap, and fly with eagles, things you can't do while you're awake.

The wind in great abundance, can carry you right up to the sun,

May you relax upon the fluffiest cloud, until your fill is done.

And I here, within the room, will forever hold you close,

I shall keep you safe my dear, as you slumber and you doze.

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Josie Del Valle

I'm a down to earth person, as anyone else. My writings come from moments in time that have inspired me. These are thoughts I dare not utter out loud. My writings are not for everyone, and they were not meant to be. They simply are me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.