Poets logo

Sweet misery

-Adele from Blue is the Warmest Color

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 months ago β€’ 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
26
Sweet misery
Photo by zameel hz on Unsplash

My soul wretches with the very thought of you hating me

If you believe you are better without me,

Righteous or pious

Selfish, angry

Your soft hellos after the hard, silent goodbyes

Fill my heart with a savory pain

Like the best chocolate tempered over a hard roll

I cannot chew

I once felt butter waxing poetically in my mouth

As you drifted into the arms of others as if it was

nothing

As if I was always nothing

Layers that taunted me and a ghost of a pretend play that desired passion over substance

I'm in silent, sweet misery.

heartbreak
26

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • angela hepworth23 days ago

    Gorgeous! Love that movie as well!

  • Andrea Corwin 26 days ago

    Congrats on TS. This is brilliant: Your soft hellos after the hard, silent goodbyes Fill my heart with a savory pain

  • Anna 28 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!πŸ₯³πŸ₯³πŸ₯³

  • Ameer Bibi28 days ago

    Congratulations for top story πŸŽŠπŸŽŠπŸŽ‰"Your humanity infuses your writing with authenticity, empathy, and depth. Embrace your unique voice, for it holds the power to connect, resonate, and inspire others in ways only you can. Keep penning your truth, and watch as your words illuminate the path for others to follow."

  • Mahesh Kumar29 days ago

    Great job

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! πŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ’–πŸŽŠ

  • Kendall Defoe 30 days ago

    Sometimes it can be the coldest colour... A beautiful piece of work, MI!

  • Cathy holmes30 days ago

    There it is. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a month ago

    this steals the breath right away from you. Great job

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a month ago

    This one had a lot of lines that make you stop and think. "Passion over substance." got me good. Deep and poignant work, Mellisa!

  • Heather Hublerabout a month ago

    Wow, Melissa! This hit hard. What a way to describe devastation.

  • Celia in Underlandabout a month ago

    This is so devestatingly beautiful but so perfectly written - Every line is a masterclass 🀍

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    I read this: "Your soft hellos after the hard, silent goodbyes Fill my heart with a savory pain Like the best chocolate tempered over a hard roll I cannot chew," and went "holy fuck, Melissa." And I mean that in the best possible way. Then I read the next couple of lines and went "damn!" This is outstanding. I simply love it. πŸ‘πŸ‘

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Heartbreaking expressed poignantly!!!β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’•

  • This line was my favourite, "I once felt butter waxing poetically in my mouth" and this line resonated so deeply with me, "As if I was always nothing". Loved your poem!

  • Oh, the joy of navigating the hazards of young & ever so fickle love.

  • Christy Munson2 months ago

    Love these lines: "Your soft hellos after the hard, silent goodbyes Fill my heart with a savory pain Like the best chocolate tempered over a hard roll I cannot chew I once felt butter waxing poetically in my mouth"

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.