Poets logo

Swapping with the Monster

A poem on understanding why I’m an asshole sometimes

By Lola SensePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
photo: Elina Krima

You come and go as you please. You love the surprise

and the grimace on my face when I realize

I’m being mean and cruel for no reason.

I don’t always recognize you—you’re subversive and sly.

Disguised as a simple annoyance, a whim, a mood,

you make yourself at home and wait for a chance to strike:

when I’m with a loved one or at my happiest.

Let’s switch, beast. I’ll be the fiend that feeds the fear

you constantly carry in the back of your mind.

Maybe I’ll take up residence in a nook you haven’t decluttered in a while.

But don’t worry, I’ll pay rent for it — I’ll feed you

apathy, pride, envy, and regret.

I’ll then package it all in poetry; you’ll think you’re deep and shit

while I remorselessly fuel your pain-body.

But I’m not like you. The Light in me, the Presence, would try

to understand you, where you come from, and the suffering

you conceal. Serenely,

I’d ambush you with care and understanding.

I’d let you untangle your want for attention and revenge,

your need to act out when things don’t go your way,

when you don’t receive what you’re entitled to.

I’d humbly dilute your heartache with tenderness.

Does that sound good? Let’s swap.

© 2021 Lola Sense

~~~

This poem was originally published on Medium. Thank you for reading! If you like my work, you can support me with a tip or a coffee. And if you enjoyed this, you might also like:

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Lola Sense

Poet and writer of steamy stories. If my work tickles you the right way and you want to support me, feel free to buy me a coffee to keep the sexy stories coming!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.