Poets logo

Survivor

learning to live

By KAT HuntPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like

I am no longer a victim to my victimization

A participant in my own isolation

I am no longer held captive by blinding fear

I find meaning in being here

I am accountable for my reactions

Not defined by my interactions

I have the strength to be courageous and the courage to be strong

The character to acknowledge if I am right or if I'm wrong

I am not unbreakable but I remain unbroken

No longer controlled by truth unspoken

I bring the pain, the hurt, the darkness to light

No longer alone as I stand to fight

But not just for others or strangers I see

I fight for more. I fight for me

I am afraid. Unsteady. Unsure

But I've got this. I will endure

No longer a victim to the abuse you give

I am a survivor, I am strong. I live

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

KAT Hunt

I grew up in a small town in Oregon. In 2nd grade (circa 1984), I was entered into a poetry contest. I won 3rd place and was awarded a small check and a certificate signed by President George Bush Sr. I have been writing ever since.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.