Poets logo

Survival of the Inner Child

it never died...

By savage writerPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
2

Inside of my soul tendencies

attaining purity are existing

Never lost curiosity,

never lost receptiveness

A world such as this one

isn’t enough to make me rotten

A bond such as the one you’ve

given me isn’t enough

to make me aloof

A shitty hand of

cards you dealt

me isn’t enough to

make a brother forfeit

Child inside of me

never died, he survived

Child inside of me

never died, he survived

Child inside of me

never died, he survived

Overloads by the

docks, ship a word out

I could do this without

trying, come on

Hands subdued to my hips

Now I must move

the pen with my

mouth as I clench

it between a few teeth

How many hours has

it been since I last

started up this pc?

Child inside of me

never died, he survived

Child inside of me

never died, he survived

Child inside of me

never died, he survived

A reject such as I trotted

miles that would give the

average human’s feet athlete’s

I stood across the steps of

City Hall once again

No, not running for mayor but

I gave a speech as consolidation

Will run u the next date

of my future appearances

Please keep an ear to the street

Child inside of me

never died, he survived

Child inside of me

never died, he survived

Child inside of me

never died, he survived

What is a brother to do after

he completes the unthinkable?

Two hundred pieces

in his early twenties

Do I continue the glory or settle –

learn how to be human for once?

Tough decision, fam

But I know I can

make the right one

Child inside of me

never died, he survived

Child inside of me

never died, he survived

Child inside of me

never died, he survived

vintage
2

About the Creator

savage writer

http://bit.ly/TRPY

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.