Poets logo

Survival of the Fittest

Either you adapt or you die.

By Angelica MoralesPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Losing you was realizing fairy tales are not real. There was nothing else I could do to bring you back. Nothing was going to be magically fixed, not this time. I started feeling something inside my chest, like a balloon that kept growing with toxic air just waiting to pop and cause a chaos inside me. My heart felt as if it was being crushed by a thousand tiny rocks, each of them with a promise you made written with golden letters. I started loosing my voice in a sea of lies, the tide was confusing, I couldn't tell anymore which ones were yours and which ones were mine. I lost hope in people but not because of you, but because of my incapability of leaving you earlier even though you were hurting me. In the end I survived, we always do, it is one of the advantages of being human. But I wasn't the same, something was missing and it wasn't you or your ability of making me think that I needed your validation. In the end I lost the part of myself that believes in people and I started walking with my guard up, my head high and thinking about myself first.

I know how it sounds but in this world either you adapt or you die.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.