Poets logo

Surrender

A Poem

By Johannah FuentesfinaPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
It be like that sometimes.

given into the bitter taste of defeat

you know I couldn't cast off the flames and the heat

I've tried to cope but there's a part of me that'll never be complete.

Knowing you could side with any other, so why can't you just leave me be?

if you poke a hole in a dam

your fate is no longer in the palm of your hand

it could crash upon you

the current taking you out where you stand

All I know is to make something up or you to hinder

So here I am, here to show you that I've surrendered.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Johannah Fuentesfina

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.