Poets logo

Surface Scripture

Musings of a Freediver

By Alice AbyssPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by author

Let me slip into my sacred place, where

prophecies spill across tumbling waves.

Who else has read aloud sonnets

from the undersides of waves?

This is poetry in motion

My lips open to whisper

stanzas of grace, but all words are lost.

I am swimming in a vision-

A silent promise land,

Seen only by the drowning- but

believed only by the damned.

With saltwater against my tongue and the

ocean flooding my lungs,

I wonder if…

Perhaps,

This is how sirens seduce deaf men

surreal poetrynature poetry
1

About the Creator

Alice Abyss

Adventure is calling...

My debut novel is coming soon <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.