Poets logo

Sure To Disappoint (Explained)

Throwback Poetry Series (Summer 2014)

By Seth ThomasPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Sure To Disappoint (Explained)
Photo by Majestic Lukas on Unsplash

!!! EXPLICIT CONTENT !!!

This poem was inspired by, aimed at and written for the

people in my life that think that they can decide for me.

The few who knew or know what's best for Seth because they worry

or they have no faith, make no mistakes and judge me way before the

outcomes of my decisions have come to full fruition.

Instead of loyalty or patience they chose to abandon the ambition,

to give up the battle early; some switched sides and even hurt me

then, they named me solely as the reason for their treachery.

One taught me how to drink more than a case of beer a day

but now that they've quit drinking,

if I have one drink, I've ruined their day.

Another one fell in love with me while I was feeling drugs,

stealing stuff and tweaking but I found out it wasn't really love.

They tried to change my actions; change my path. I wouldn't have it.

For 8 years we were back and forth because "I was an addict."

I forgave them each and every time they went and cheated on me;

believed in new beginnings that were repeating patterns only.

Justified because I was high;

their lips denied the dicks inside 'em

then, kissed me and they told me lies

then, admit it when the truth would rise.

I became convinced that I was inadequate

yet, I never quit and only left when I was sent.

The next one met me in a bar when I drank thirty beers a day.

She said she loved me but the weed I smoked was a: "No Way"!

A few months later, when she was pregnant with our child,

all of a sudden I drink too much and I'm too wild.

Thirty beers turned into four and I could pass a drug test.

By the time she was eight months along

it was just me she couldn't stomach.

She kicked me out,

against my will I left, yes, once again.

That New Year's morning, I survived a fiery wreck and then, that's when

I did a thirty-day impatient stint to rehab me AND our relationship.

I quit the weed, the beer and cigarettes;

she gambled, smoked and wouldn't quit.

I got two evening jobs and watched the kids while she went to work.

She took the kids, two sets of rings and left me for a jerk.

It hurt - but to another chapter in my life, I moved.

I look back and laugh: that guy left her for some other dude!

A tiny pleasure when I think of it; those cheaters have my kids

but in the eyes of most, I'm the only one at fault for all of this.

I owe them cash they will not save for the kids for when they're older.

So, I let the debt grow bigger and the "deadbeat" of my heart grow colder.

Visitation is a parental right, except my case is different.

When I pay the money, I can see my kids with their mothers' supervision.

I will pay my debt, when I can put it in a fund,

that the kids will have access to when they turn 20-something.

I know my path. I have a plan, regardless who approves.

I'm not seeking approval. I'm just venting out the truth.

I love those who accept me and even those who don't

and even strangers that I haven't met; those I will and those I won't.

I believe in the power of belief.

I've been appointed.

Judge my life before I die,

I'm sure to disappoint.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Seth Thomas

EXPLICIT CONTENT! READ AT YOUR OWN RISK!

Seth Thomas is a self-contained asylum for corrupt entities and vigilante heroes; currently locked inside his own brain cell, being CrAzY Creative!

https://vocal.media/humans/i-m-alive-i7c7z04y9

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.