Poets logo

Supposed too

Traditional isn’t an excuse

By Beatriz LopezPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

The sun goes down, as if to sleep. I awake from sleep so deep. The air is crisp and I’m ready to eat. There is a barn owl in the tree. I wonder if he or she can see me. The owl flies down so silent and quick.

Hoot hoot

She says

Hello I say back

A mouse , my mouse runs in his wheel.

I’m relieved that the window is closed.

Hoot hoot says the owl

I am getting nervous

What frightens you my friend? Says the owl

I nearly faint

I summon the strength to say

Don’t eat him.

What ? The owl sounds indignant

I’m a vegan said the owl after a long silence.

I say with more confidence

I thought you were supposed to-

The owl interrupts

Supposed to? This isn’t a story in a book? Our lives are mailable and can change from day to day. Don’t let others dictate what you are supposed to do.

The owl flew away

I stayed awake contemplating what I’ve just learned.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.