Poets logo

Supernova

This poem is published in my 2014 Bluelight Press chapbook, No Longer An Ingenue

By Megan D. RobinsonPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
Supernova
Photo by Joel Filipe on Unsplash

“ What is to give light must endure burning”

-Victor Frankel

Your words’ barbed edges still quiver

beneath the flesh of my heart,

your hatred a cooling weight

I feel obliged to carry.

I forget I ran for liberation.

I escaped to save our son,

the life you wished to terminate

at gestation. I crossed you-

never cross paths with a moving train.

I was a bad girl.

I stayed pregnant.

Now I am a woman

with a four-year-old you want to father.

Suddenly he is your soul.

I am supposed to forget

those blistering phone calls,

though my ears still burn

from your invectives.

I am supposed to forget

you told the DHS I was an unfit parent

while you smoked dope after teaching kindergarten.

I have spent too much time apologizing,

defending you, excusing you,

believing I deserved your hatred

since I dared to conceive without your consent.

This bitterness is a weight

I must set aside.

If I relinquish my camouflage

and dance in the fire,

your words cannot hurt me.

I will absorb them into my own flame

as I go nova,

releasing the restraint caused

living in time

to other peoples’ lies and expectations.

There will always be predators.

I am not prey.

No longer satisfied to live

a moving target,

I step into my glory.

I have remembered the purpose of being burned—

to be reborn.

childrens poetryperformance poetryheartbreakCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Megan D. Robinson

elf by inclination.

lover of words, dancing, and witchcraft.

journalist, poet, storyteller, visual and performing artist.

abuse surviver, single parent with adult child, former dog mom.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.