Poets logo

Superior

Restoring Perspective

By Joe NesterPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

I have seen the fury of this inland sea; her rollers piled high in November gales

I have heard her thunderous chorus along the North Shore, craggy and hard against the assault

I have felt her frigid spray on top ten-story cliffs jettisoned skyward by mighty collisions

I have listened to sobering stories of shipwrecks and ten thousand souls down in her depths

I have marveled at her serenity in calmer times, always respectful of an untamed spirit

I have breathed the scented air of pine and birch forests hugging close to her rugged shore

I have watched the magical lights in the north dancing along her horizon

I have looked into the depth of the stars and galaxies hinting at the universe above her body

I have stood on her shore staring into the past, a primitive vastness unchangeable by man

And I find an inner peace whenever in her presence

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Joe Nester

Joseph Benedict loves the creative process of writing a good story, and self published his first novel “Frozen Harvest,” in 2020.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.