Poets logo

Superior

The best thing I know

By Lolly MariahPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
Like

“Look it’s moving. I think it’s alive!”

I want to talk to it, you think I should try?

"Why would you do that it could kill you!"

Well honestly , I don’t see why!

I’m gonna go for it , you stand here and be shy

"Yeah okay , I’ll be in the truck

We've got to get home before dawn. We’re in a rush"

Yeah, fine, whatever you say,

As soon as I’m done we’ll head back that way

By Lucas Ludwig on Unsplash

Hey little guy

You're not from here are ya?

You don’t look like anything I’ve seen before

I don’t mean to pry

But you appear far from

Your place in stars or the endless shore

“Hurry up girl we're not trying to wait”

Sorry my sister keeps yelling from down the way

Hold on , 5 more minutes and we can go!

I want to tell it the best thing I know!

Anyway

Hey buddy, I know it’s late. We call this night,

But there’s so many things you can experience in the light

Like the suns warm rays, or petals, and birds.

Well, perhaps in the dark you’ll be less disturbed

There is one thing we all cherish here

There’s cities who cry that theirs isn’t so clear

There’s containers that hold it small and large

It has no flavor

It’s free at bars

Well you don’t know what bars are or even cars

But I’m sure you know what it feels like be parched

Being dry and needing to feel replenished

Feeling fresh and pure ….

"Girl hurry up !"

Almost done , let me finish!

Most people use it everyday

to clean their bodies

Or their minds on Sundays

There’s rivers , streams, oceans, and lakes

They dance in a current and often in waves

And there is this one particular place

That has the best of it. At least I’d say.

I can’t take you there today,

But you can go by bus, spaceship, or plane

It lives above a mitten

Right next to bunny

And I must admit it

Does sound kind of funny

But this place is the most superior of them all

I visited it when I was kid one fall

It’s probably superior cause it has the best taste

I hope I can visit again before it’s too late

Maybe you’ll visit before I return

I truly hope that is the case

Just remember me when you get to the water

Oh sorry, I didn’t tell you it’s name...

Water

“We’re leaving now,”

Shoot I’ve got to go

Please, do me a favor and see it before it gets too cold

It’s not so friendly as ice or snow

Well I hope I told you the best thing I know

See you at the water, friend

By Alan Labisch on Unsplash

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lolly Mariah

Known mostly for my musical talents of singing/songwriting, I am a creative writer in general. I find interest in sharing stories, poems, music, and even my interests in herbalism and spirituality. I'm pretty much an open book!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.