Poets logo

Sunrise on the Horizon

Subtle Changes

By Stephen Chan WahPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2

I have not seen the sunrise in a while

But today is different

I woke up to see lines of light

Peaking into my room from behind the curtains

I checked the time to see big and bright

Its six am and the sun has just woken up here too

I part my curtains and all the dust particles begin to dance in the rays of sunshine

My room is dusty

Well, lets clean it

As if like a flower chosen by God

As all flowers are

When the sun kissed my skin

It lit my heart ablaze

The energy from the star of day invigorated me to start my day in the right way

I danced with my cat to the music of my parent's time because I wanted to feel closer to them and they are so far away

I messaged some friends I haven't spoken to in ages because the days used to fly by so fast, it felt like a burden to reach out

But today is different

Today without a doubt is different

Because the sun made me feel to write again

And I have not written in ages

Because the days before felt so short, too short,

To do anything worth saving, worth recording or worth remembering

But I would like to remember today for years to come

So cheers to the Sunrise on the Horizon

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Stephen Chan Wah

Trinidadian Writer, currently residing in Toronto. The art of writing means many things to me. It is currently changing and I am always finding myself revisiting my passion for writing in new ways. Thanks for any time spent reading my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.